Changes

Line 12: Line 12:  
Roughly 28,000 items previously held on Tsushima or in Edo (Tokyo) were transferred to the possession of the ''Chôsen sôtokufu'', the Empire of Japan's chief colonial government office in [[Seoul]], in a pair of transfers in 1926 and 1938. Following the defeat of Japan in World War II and the establishment of an independent Republic of Korea, the Korean government retained these materials. They are today held by the National Institute of Korean History (韓国国史編纂委員会, ''Hanguk guksa pyeonchan wiwonhoe'').
 
Roughly 28,000 items previously held on Tsushima or in Edo (Tokyo) were transferred to the possession of the ''Chôsen sôtokufu'', the Empire of Japan's chief colonial government office in [[Seoul]], in a pair of transfers in 1926 and 1938. Following the defeat of Japan in World War II and the establishment of an independent Republic of Korea, the Korean government retained these materials. They are today held by the National Institute of Korean History (韓国国史編纂委員会, ''Hanguk guksa pyeonchan wiwonhoe'').
    +
Documents from the Waegwan ("Japan House") in Pusan, as well as from Tsushima and Edo, were transferred to the [[Ministry of Foreign Affairs]] (''Gaimushô'') in [[1873]]. This collection, along with additional materials from [[Yogyoku-in|Yôgyoku-in]] temple in Tokyo, were then transferred to the Imperial Library (''Teikoku toshokan'') in [[1897]], and then to the National Diet Library (''Kokuritsu kokkai toshokan'') in 1949, remaining there today. These number around 1,600 items.
 +
 +
Finally, documents from the domain's Edo mansions were largely transferred to Yôgyoku-in temple in Tokyo at some point in the late 19th or early 20th century. Some of these were then transferred to the Colonial Office in Seoul or the Imperial Library in Tokyo. Of what remained, roughly 3,000 items were transferred to Tokyo Imperial University's library in 1924 and are today held at the [[University of Tokyo]] Historiographical Institute (''[[Shiryohensanjo|Shiryôhensanjo]]''), roughly 1,000 were given to the [[Keio University]] library in 1912 and remain there, and roughly 160 items were transferred to the [[Hitotsubashi clan]] and then in 1943 to the [[Tokyo National Museum]], where they now remain.
     
contributor
26,977

edits